Deborah Heiligman

Deborah Heiligman is the author of 32 books, most of them nonfiction. Her latest, Torpedoed: The True Story of the World War II Sinking of “The Children’s Ship” (October, 2019, garnered four starred reviews, won the SCBWI Golden Kite Award and is a finalist for the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award.  Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers (2017), won the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award, the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for nonfiction, the SCBWI Golden Kite Award for nonfiction, and an ALA Printz Honor. Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith (2009) won the inaugural YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award, was a Printz Honor and a National Book Award Finalist. The Boy Who Loved Math: The Improbable Life of Paul Erdos (2013) won the Cook Prize, the Anne Izard Storytelling Award, was a New York Times notable book, and is a perennial favorite in elementary schools, as is From Caterpillar to Butterfly (1996).  For more information, please visit

Blog Posts by Deborah Heiligman

Our Mission in Action

Share Your Story, Inspire a Child
Equity & Inclusion in Kidlit
Partners & Sponsors

The Highlights Foundation positively impacts children by amplifying the voices of storytellers who inform, educate, and inspire children to become their best selves.  Learn more about our impact.