Announcing the 2018 Artist-in-Residency Scholarships

Dec 8, 2017 | Highlights Foundation News

In honor of their significant contributions to the field of children’s literature, the Highlights Foundation has created scholarships in the name of each Artist-in-Residency who visited this year. Details about the five named scholarships are below.

Laurie Halse Anderson

2018 Laurie Halse Anderson Scholarship

Kathryn Erskine

2018 Kathryn Erskine Scholarship

Matt de la Peña

2018 Matt de la Peña Scholarship

Varian Johnson

2018 Varian Johnson Scholarship

Denise Fleming

2018 Denise Fleming Scholarship

The Artist-in-Residency scholarships provide full tuition to qualified 2018 Highlights Foundation programs. Recipients are selected on two criteria: seriousness of purpose and financial need.

Workshops for Writers & Illustrators

> Online
> In-Person
> On-Demand (Self-Paced Online)

New to the Highlights Foundation? Try these:

About Children's Publishing | The Whole Novel Workshop | Summer Camp


Need help deciding on a workshop?  Ask an ambassador!

Visiting Our Campus

Our campus (The Barn at Boyds Mills) is tucked away in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania.  It's a few hours from both New York City and Philadelphia, but worlds away from everyday life.

Line drawing of the Barn at Boyds Mills

Our Mission in Action

Equity & Inclusion in Kidlit

The Highlights Foundation positively impacts children by amplifying the voices of storytellers who inform, educate, and inspire children to become their best selves.  Learn more about our impact.

For Businesses & Organizations

Fund a Scholarship
Partner with Us