The Carle Honors, 2012

The seventh annual Carle Honors Benefit Gala and Art Auction was held on September 20, 2012 in New York City. Hosted by Museum co-founders Eric and Barbara Carle, The Carle Honors is an annual benefit for The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art. Guests of the Honors include Museum patrons and board members, leaders in the field of children’s illustrated literature, representatives from early childhood education and advocacy, celebrities, and children’s media.

At the heart of the Honors is a constellation of awards celebrating those individuals whose creative vision and dedication are an inspiration to everyone who values picture books and their role in arts education and literacy. The awards, selected each year by a committee chaired by Leonard S. Marcus, who was central to the founding of the Honors, recognize individuals in four distinct forms:

  • Artist – for lifelong innovation in the field
  • Mentor – editors, designers, and educators who champion the art form
  • Angel – whose generous financial support is crucial to making picture book art exhibitions, education programs, and related projects a reality
  • Bridge – individuals who have found inspired ways to bring the art of the picture book to larger audiences through work in other fields

This year’s co-chairs, Norton and Jeanne Juster and Jules and Kate Feiffer, joined Eric and Barbara Carle in welcoming the honorees:

Artist: Lane Smith, author and artist, introduced by Anita Silvey.

Angel: Kent L. Brown Jr., executive director of the Highlights Foundation and editor-in-chief emeritus of Highlights for Children, Inc., introduced by artist Floyd Cooper.

Mentor: Frances Foster, the legendary editor of Frances Foster Books,  introduced by artist Barbara McClintock and musician Natalie Merchant.

Bridge: Christopher Cerf, Sesame Street contributor and co-creator of the PBS series Between The Lions, introduced by artist Mo Willems.