Diversity Fellowship in Children’s Literature 2019-2020

September 13 - 15, 2019


With Floyd Cooper, Debbi Michiko Florence, Emma Otheguy, Paula Chase-Hyman, Yvonne Wakim Dennis, Leah Henderson, An Na and Pat Cummings

The Diversity Fellowship in Children’s Literature is a 24-month professional development and mentorship program for People of Color and Indigenous authors or illustrators who are actively pursuing publication within the children’s publishing industry.

About the Leaders

Floyd Cooper

Floyd Cooper is the Coretta Scott King award-winning illustrator of more than 60 books for children. Floyd started his career in…
Learn more

Debbi Michiko Florence

Debbi Michiko Florence, a third generation Japanese American, is a former classroom teacher and zoo educator…
Learn more

Emma Otheguy

Emma Otheguy is the author of the bilingual picture book Martí’s Song for Freedom (Lee & Low, 2017) about Cuban poet and national…
Learn more

Paula Chase-Hyman

Paula Chase-Hyman doesn’t mind being known as a Jane of all trades, Queen of none. But a single theme has followed throughout her career…
Learn more

Yvonne Wakim Dennis

Yvonne Wakim Dennis is an award winning author of nonfiction books for children and adults including A Kid's Guide to Native American History…
Learn more

Leah Henderson

Leah Henderson has always loved getting lost in stories. When she is not scribbling down her characters’ adventures, she is off on her own…
Learn more

An Na

An Na was born in South Korea and grew up in San Diego, California. She is the author of three novels: A Step from Heaven, Wait for Me and The Fold…
Learn more

Pat Cummings

Pat Cummings is the author and/or illustrator of over 40 books for young readers. Along with teaching children’s book classes at Pratt…
Learn more

workshop information

Fellowship Session One begins on Friday, September 13 with dinner and ends on Sunday, September 15, with lunch.